Finally in the field! Let the Adventure begin!

Elder Bowles
President and Sister Grant with Parker on his first day in Zagreb

He’s finally arrived, and a little jet lagged, well okay very jet lagged! After many many hours of travel time, and 2 days of no sleep Parker has finally made it to his destination. He  will be serving in the Zagreb Croatia! President and Sister Grant were at the airport with open arms to welcome the new missionaries. Although it’s overwhelming, Parker is loving it!

He’s survived his first week in Zagreb!

So, This week has probably been the most insane and crazy week of my entire life. I feel like I was beaten, shot, maybe stabbed a couple times, but somehow I am still somewhat holding on to life! I will describe Zagreb really quickly then I will get more into it shortly!

So It constantly smells like smoke, there are coffee shops and bakeries on every corner, it has been pouring rain nonstop (except today) and I can’t speak or understand a single word anybody says! But I love the city!!!
So at the end of our MTC stay we watched conference in the huge room all together. We got to watch in a big group in uncomfortable chairs, but I guess it worked! After conference on Sunday we had BYU vocal point come and perform a concert for us! But sadly the new group didn’t sound very good together…..kind of disappointing… But all is well!
That night we finally got packed and all ready to go. We ended up staying up until about 1 in the morning because there was so much to do. We slept for about an hour then headed off to the bus! The bus took us to the Frontrunner (which I had actually missed…) and we rode it all the way to the airport. Once there I gave my family a quick call and we flew off to Chicago.
On our way there our flight attendant was Serbian and we actually got to talk with her in the broken croatian that we knew XD
once at chicago, we went and called our families for a longer period of time. Great! I miss them a ton, as well as all of you guys!!! But We got some food at mcdonalds and headed on the giant plane to Germany. Where everything was in german….But it was probably one of the longest nights of my life, I didn’t sleep at all….so two days without any sleep really….
We arrived in Frankfurt and were lost in the airport for a while, then the phones wouldn’t work…and that was frustrating!!! But we ended up getting on a plane where they only spoke Croatian, which was really weird. 
We arrived in Zagreb and the Grants where right there to pick us up. They are super super nice and really love all of the missionaries that are out here in Yugoslavia area. We came to the mission office to meet all of the trainers. Once here we were introduced to all 12 trainers and then they randomly assigned us to go on an adventure! I was paired up with Elder Swink from Banja Luka. We went out to begin contacting people on the street. I couldn’t say a single word to anyone really…So We didn’t exactly have any success….But it was good!
We went back to the Grants house and then the Jet lag really hit… But it was all well, we had a good meat dinner and then got to pass out in our beds. Nice night of sleeping haha.
The next day at breakfast we were paired up with our new companions and were able to find out where we were going to be for our Training transfer. I was paired up with Elder Sheesley in Zagreb Centar area. Just look up Zagreb Centar if you want to see where I am right now XD
We had a morning of training and then we were sent out to our various areas. Except I was already in mine XD
We got back, unpacked a little bit and headed out contacting again. We do that a ton XD
I can’t understand or speak this language to save my life…but that is what I am stuck with XD
Every day we go around contacting. We have met a ton of muslims that like to preach back to us about their religion, which is interesting cuz I have no idea what they are saying! 
Day 2 we went out to lunch with the AP’s and the sisters in the area to get sandwiches. BTW: the food here is amazing and insanely delicious XD Then We had a quick district meeting about our goals, and yeah, that was it. That night we went to a lesson with a members neice and we got in to give her a blessing because she was super sick, but we ended up teaching the Restoration. And then I invited them to be baptized and they said yes!!! So maybe I will have a baptism soon!
The next day I tried a food called Burek and I am absolutely in love with it! It is this weird pastry thing with meat in the middle…oh it is so delicious! I could eat so much of it!
But that night we had a lesson with the Amelio family. We teach them in English because the dad is member from america. But he is inactive and has some bazaar views…..he is determined that God is a woman….so there’s that…. But it was a weird lesson and I honestly can’t tell you what happened….
We went to the police station and finished up my Visa stuff. It took like 4 hours….looong time….plus I am still jet lagged! This is terrible!
We took the tram 45 minutes to the church to have a weird meeting with the mission leader Luka. He talks weirdly…it is strange. but then our lesson canceled on us and we went back and did our weekly planning, so I guess that part is good haha
Sunday we had church and I didn’t understand a single word for all 3 hours. This language is actually trying to kill me I think….It is brutal….But that night we went tracting. I hate it so much….I feel like such a burden and it is awkward! One guy let us in and it was so weird and noone knew what to say….bleh, nevolim….
Today we went around sightseeing for a bit and now here I am!
This church is true even in another language! If Only I could learn that language…..Also, since tea is such a giant thing here, we have been specified what tea’s are ok and what aren’t. And so the missionaries drink tons of certain fruit tea, and it is amazing XD I love it!!! that is all 😀
I love you all! you are amazing and I miss you all so much!
Stay strong everyone!!
Ljubav,
Elder Bowles!
Parker and his new companion  Elder Sheeshly
Parker and his new companion Elder Sheeshly

DSCN0105[1]
Rooftop view of the one of the cathedrals in Zagreb
DSCN0098[1]
Another church in Zagreb
Leave a Reply

